## BOURNEMOUTH, CHRISTCHURCH AND POOLE COUNCIL

## COUNCIL

Minutes of the Meeting held on 23 July 2024 at 7.00 pm

Present:-

Cllr L Dedman – Chairman

# Cllr S Bull – Vice-Chairman

Present: Cllr C Adams, Cllr S Aitkenhead, Cllr H Allen, Cllr M Andrews, Cllr S Armstrong, Cllr J Bagwell, Cllr S Bartlett, Cllr J Beesley, Cllr P Broadhead, Cllr D Brown, Cllr O Brown, Cllr R Burton, Cllr J J Butt, Cllr P Canavan, Cllr S Carr-Brown, Cllr J Challinor, Cllr A Chapmanlaw, Cllr B Chick, Cllr J Clements, Cllr E Connolly, Cllr P Cooper, Cllr D d'Orton-Gibson, Cllr M Dower, Cllr M Earl, Cllr G Farguhar, Cllr D Farr, Cllr A Filer, Cllr D A Flagg, Cllr M Gillett, Cllr C Goodall, Cllr J Hanna, Cllr E Harman, Cllr R Herrett, Cllr P Hilliard, Cllr B Hitchcock, Cllr M Howell, Cllr A Keddie, Cllr M Le Poidevin, Cllr S Mackrow, Cllr R Maidment, Cllr A Martin, Cllr D Martin, Cllr G Martin, Cllr J Martin, Cllr S McCormack, Cllr P Miles, Cllr S Moore, Cllr A-M Moriarty, Cllr B Nanovo, Cllr L Northover, Cllr M Phipps, Cllr K Rampton, Cllr Dr F Rice, Cllr J Richardson, Cllr V Ricketts, Cllr C Rigby, Cllr K Salmon, Cllr J Salmon, Cllr P Sidaway, Cllr P Slade, Cllr V Slade, Cllr M Tarling, Cllr T Trent, Cllr O Walters, Cllr C Weight, Cllr L Williams, Cllr K Wilson and Cllr G Wright

Also in attendance:

# 6. <u>Apologies</u>

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Brian Castle, Mike Cox, Jackie Edwards, Andy Hadley and Chris Matthews.

## 7. <u>Declarations of Interests</u>

The Chief Executive advised that no individual declarations of interest had been received.

The Monitoring Officer confirmed a dispensation had been granted to the members of Cabinet in respect of agenda item 3: Appointment of Leader of the Council, to enable them to fully participate in the debate and vote. It was confirmed that the granting of this dispensation would be reported to the next meeting of the Standards Committee.

#### 8. <u>Appointment of Leader of the Council</u>

The Chair sought nominations for Leader of BCP Council.

Nominations were received for the new Leader of the Council as follows: Cllr M Earl (nominated by Cllr V Slade, seconded by Cllr A Martin.) No other nominations were received.

In the absence of any other nominations Councillor M Earl was confirmed as Leader of the Council unopposed.

Cllr Earl confirmed that Cabinet would comprise:

- Councillor Mike Cox as Deputy Chairman and Portfolio Holder for Finance;
- Councillor David Brown as Portfolio Holder for Health and Wellbeing;
- Councillor Richard Burton as Portfolio Holder for Children, Young People, Education and Skills;
- Councillor Jeff Hanna as Portfolio Holder for Transformation, Resources and Governance;
- Councillor Andy Martin as Portfolio Holder for Customer Communications and Culture;
- Councillor Andy Hadley as Portfolio Holder for Climate Response, Environment and Energy;
- Councillor Kieron Wilson as Portfolio Holder for Housing and Regulatory Services;
- Councillor Richard Herritt as Portfolio Holder for Destination, Leisure and Commercial Operations;
- Councillor Sandra Moore as Portfolio Holder for Communities and Partnerships.

Lead Members were confirmed as:

- Councillor Margaret Phipps as Lead Member for Local Plan Delivery;
- Councillor Mark Howell as Lead Member for Regeneration Projects;
- Councillor Simon McCormack as Lead Member for Homelessness and cost of living.

## **RESOLVED** that:

- (a) Council notes Councillor V Slade's resignation as Leader of BCP Council following her election as the Member of Parliament for Mid Dorset and North Poole;
- (b) Council appoints Councillor M Earl as Leader of BCP Council;
- (c) Council notes the appointment of 9 Cabinet Members and 3 Lead Members and the allocation of responsibilities;
- (d) Council notes that once appointed the Leader of BCP Council will appoint a Deputy Leader from among the Cabinet Members;
- (e) Upon receipt of the Cabinet Member appointments and allocation of responsibilities, the Monitoring Officer will take steps to ensure the Council's Constitution is updated.

Voting: 67:0 (2 abstentions)

COUNCIL 23 July 2024

The meeting ended at 7.26 pm